top of page

Our History

Bridgeport Missionary Baptist Church was organized by way of letters of extended arm from Bethel Missionary Baptist Church, Choctaw, Oklahoma, on September 27th, 1953 from Br. Bill and Sis. Francis Crawford, Br. Cecil Rector, and Br. Frank Laird.

G.W. Crawford, missionary to the state of Oklahoma, moderated the organizational meeting and immediately following the church received Br. Les Morris and Sis. Pearl Crawford by way of letter. Br. John C. & Sis Patricia Moses, Br. Charles & Sis. Ida Moore, and Sis. Mary Rector were voted in as candidates for baptism and after baptism, given full right-hand of fellowship, with the baptisms being performed by Br. Bill Crawford. By 4 o’clock that very evening, the organization of the church was complete with eleven members and their children. Many of the children, grandchildren and even great-grandchildren of those founding families attend Bridgeport today.

The Church received its name from the Bridgeport area of Wichita in which it was originally located. Services have been held for more than six decades at 3233 N Market, remaining true to the Old Landmark Baptist teachings, singing the timeless hymns and preaching the Gospel.

During those six decades, the Lord has worked diligently to provide for Bridgeport; allowing for growth and expansion in countless ways. The addition of precious souls and the eventual outgrowth of the building and perimeters by which we could expand, led to the acquisition, development and eventual erection of our new location in South Wichita at 6161 S Meridian.

With God on our side, the Word in our hearts and members desirous to serve the Lord, Bridgeport is prepared to continue to press forward to future generations. Until the Lord returns, Bridgeport will preach the Gospel, carry out the Great Commission and show our love for Christ by loving others as Jesus loves us. To God be the glory!

bottom of page